the long road to healthy

May 15, 2009

The Daily Shred – May 15th Edition

Filed under: fitness, The Daily Shred — karena @ 7:32 pm

whimper

groan

owww

OK, I’m really sore, particularly my thighs and backside. And my husband is taking evil delight in trying to make me move fast, so he can watch me wince, and in encouraging my kids to climb all over me, so he can witness my agony. But his time is coming. Oh, yes. Because after a couple months with Jillian, I’m going to be able to kick his sorry out of shape arse to the curb.

Because today was day three of the 30 Day Shred for me. And I didn’t put it off. I wanted desperately to make an excuse and not roll out of bed to go to it. But today was one of those days where, if I didn’t get to it before everyone else was awake, it wouldn’t happen. And I’ve got to be honest, I considered just staying in bed — knowing that I’d rationalize it late in the day and never get a workout in.

But I knew I’d be so disappointed in myself if I did. So I just did it. Like the Nike commercials of old, yet I’m a New Balance kind of girl. And you know what? It was great, and empowering. Oh, it sucked and I was gasping for breath and wondering if I could make it through the third set alive. But I did, and I feel a vast amount of accomplishment in that. Not just in the workout, but in getting up early purposefully to get in a workout. I don’t really like the fact that I have to get up an hour before everyone else just to have some “me” time, but I’m beginning to understand just how important “me” time is. I’m a mom, a homeschool teacher, and a housewife, long before I’m “me”. But unless I carve out some time for me, I’m not 100% in the rest of my life.

OK, sappy, I know. But completely true.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

