the long road to healthy

June 2, 2009

Tofu Tuesday – a week in the life

Filed under: good eats — karena @ 8:28 am

tofutuesdaysml
Brought to you by…
Kaci@Ellyphant & Kelli@Gohn Crazy

Although I love to cook, and I’m actually a fairly accomplished vegan cook, most of the time our meals are one-dish affairs. We don’t typically have starters, an entree, desserts, etc. We have kids. I make supper with a toddler either clinging to my legs or sitting on my hip. And a five year old discussing the lunar landing. Most of the time, meal prep has to be something I can do with one hand and only a portion of my brain. It has to be filling, not-too-spicy (although I adore spicy), and not too exotic for my kids.

Here’s our menu for the week:

tonight: Taco salad for the grown ups, soft tacos for the littles. I use MorningStar crumbles for this. A friend gave us some of his homegrown lettuce, and ours is coming in as well, so a filling salad was in order. Lettuce, tomatoes, red onion, taco filling, salsa, maybe some guacamole, etc. You don’t miss the cheese, trust me. I’ll put a couple tortillas under the broiler so dh and I can have “chips” with this.

Wednesday: Tuscan White Bean Soup. Yummmm. Tune in tomorrow and I’ll post the recipe. This is one of our all time favorites – a Donna Klein recipe, of course. We will have a salad on the side. Leftovers for Thursday.

Friday: stir-fry, curry, rice and beans…? I don’t know. Something with rice. Friday my husband is out of work early, so it’s the one day I can experiment with new recipes or do something a little more in depth.

Saturday: Saturday is pizza night in our house. We make individual pizzas, to accommodate the wide range of tastes in our house. All get a simple but yummy homemade sauce, this recipe for a tofu-based cheese substitute. The boys like it plain, like this, although we sometimes sneak in little bits of mushroom or peppers. DH loves mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, and spiced olives. I like all these, but am trying to go a little healthier these days, having mushrooms and green peppers. DH thinks green peppers are the food of the devil.

Sunday: During the summer, Sundays are salad nights. Non-mayo potato salad, pasta salad, green salad, rice salads….. You get the idea. In cold weather, Sunday is soup night.

I’ll *try* and get in here this week with some photos of our meals and a few recipes here and there.

Have a great Tofu Tuesday!

2 Comments »

  1. I like that you have pizza night and salad night. Nice to have something themed that you can roll with. I’ll have to check back for the recipe. I’m not a huge soup fan, but The Husband loves soups.

    Comment by Kelli@GohnCrazy — June 2, 2009 @ 6:46 pm

  2. Oooo I can’t wait for those recipes!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Kaci — June 2, 2009 @ 11:42 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

